Commissioned by the Supreme Court in 1868, this library is primarily for the justices of the court. The collection really took off in 1887, and when the new Supreme Court of Justice building opened in 1941, it included this library. Some years later it was renamed for the Minister, María Cristina Salmorán de Tamayo.
Today the library is open to the general public and has a collection of titles focused on legal matters and related subjects.
Within the facility are meeting rooms and equipment for blind people.